Header Ad

Who wins SWAG sports personality 2017?

President of the Association, Kwabena Yeboah said it would be the surprise and highlight of the event.  

April 23, 2018

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) 43rd Awards Night comes off on Friday, May 4, 2018 at the AICC (Pink Lady).

According to the organisers of the event, the ASA Band and Kwabena Kwabena are going to provide music, but the surprise of the night should be the Sports Personality of the Year.

President of the Association, Kwabena Yeboah said it would be the surprise and highlight of the event.

Six people are contesting for the Sports Federation Chairman/President of the Year.

Viewing for the prestigious Footballer of the Year are Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC), Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England) and Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia).

Thomas Teye Partey, Atletico Madrid, Spain

This year’s event coincides with activities of the 50th Anniversary Celebration of SWAG which was founded in 1968.

Below is the full list of outstanding sportsmen and women in the year 2017:

Footballer of the Year

Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC)

Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain)

Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England)

Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia)

Footballer of the Year (LOCAL)

Thomas Abbey (Accra Hearts of Oak)

Amos Frimpong (Kumasi Asante Kotoko)

Stephen Sarfo (Berekum Chelsea)

Female Footballer of the Year

Priscilla Adubea (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Priscilla Okyere (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Ruth Appiah (LadyStrikers)

Professional Boxer of the Year

Isaac Dogboe (WBO Interim SuperBantamweight Champion)

Duke Micah (WBC International Bantamweight Champion)

Kickboxer of the Year

Alhassan Okine (UAE based, World Kickboxing Federation Champion)

National Team of the Year

Local Black Stars – WAFU Champions

Black Sticks (Female Hockey Team)

Golden Arms (Armwrestling)

Coach of the Year

Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey and Duke Micah)

Yussif Abubakar (Aduana FC)

Carl Pierce (Ghana Weightlifting Federation)

Association President of the Year

Mawuko Afadzinu (Table Tennis)

Herbert Mensah (Rugby)

Paul Achoe (Volleyball)

Charles Osei Asibey (Armwrestling)

Evans Yeboah (Badminton)

Frederick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo)

Most Promising Star of the Year

Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting)

David Abagna     (Wa All Stars)

Female Club of the Year

Ampem Darkoah Ladies

Male Club of the Year

Aduana Stars FC (GPL)

Ghana Revenue Authority (GAR) Male Hockey team

 Dedication and Valour

George Bankole (Handball coach)

Ofori Asare (Boxing coach)

Weightlifter of the Year

Christian Amoah

Discovery of the Year

David Akwei (Weightlifting)

Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestling)

Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers and Black Maidens)

Hockey Player of the Year

Salia Nsalbini

Golfer of the Year

Vincent Torgah

Badminton Player of the Year

Emmanuel Yaw Donkor

Grace Atipaka

Volleyball Player of The Year

Richard Amanor

Para-Athlete of the Year

Charles Narh Teye (Weightlifting)

Haruna Tahiru (Armwreslting)

Cyclist of the Year

Anthony Boafo Dankwa Boakye

Special Awards

Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor (Sanford)

Alex Asante (GFA)

Dr. K D Asante

Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum

Dr. Martin Engmann

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.