Complete News World

+ 8 cents - City Today

+ 8 cents – City Today

The European Union has adopted sanctions against Russian state media that the Kremlin deemed tools of “disinformation” in its attack on Ukraine, with the suspension of the transmission of Sputnik and Russia Today in the European bloc into effect today.

The 27 countries decided to “suspend the broadcasting activities of the media “Sputnik” and “RT / Russia Today” (RT English, RT UK, RT Germany, RT France and RT Spain) in the European Union, or directed at the European Union, until aggression. To Ukraine, and until the Russian Federation and its outlets cease carrying out actions of disinformation and manipulation of information against the European Union and its member states.

This decision was published today in the Official Journal of the European Union and the Member States concerned must implement it in their respective territories.

In response to the decision, European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen said Europe was “watching massive propaganda and disinformation about this outrageous attack on a free and independent country”.

We will not let my apologies to the Kremlin [Presidência russa] Pouring out your poisonous lies that justify a war [Vladimir] Putin or sow the seeds of division in our union.”

The actions taken are part of the response to Russia’s unprovoked and unjustified military aggression against Ukraine and the fight against disinformation.