Complete News World

Liverpool resists VAR final and wins League Cup in extra time

Liverpool resists VAR final and wins League Cup in extra time

Hey Liverpool, early Sunday afternoon, consolidated its position as a dominant force in the English League Cup, winning the title for the tenth time in history, thanks to a victory over Chelsea, already in extra time, with a score of 0-1.

A final match played at Wembley Stadium, “not for the faint of heart”, witnessed a double VAR intervention, first in the 33rd minute, to disallow a goal by Raheem Sterling, and then in the 60th minute, to prevent Virgil van Dijk from scoring. The party pushed the decision into overtime.

However, the Dutch international (who captained the Reds for the first time in the final) refused to “give up”, and ended up scoring the goal that “tip” the balance in the 118th minute, with an imperial header.

It should be noted that Liverpool coach, Jurgen Klopp, was unable to rely on Diogo Jota and Darwin Nunez, “well-known faces” in Portuguese football, due to injury. On the other hand, Luis Diaz was named as a starter, while Mauricio Pochettino released Enzo Fernandez.

In this way, Liverpool guarantees a “moral injection” for a season that could be (more) glorious, as they lead the Premier League, after 26 rounds, and are in the round of 16 of the Europa League, where they will face Sparta Prague.


Chelsea: Petrovic; Gusteau, Disasi, Colwell, Chilwell; Caicedo, Enzo Fernandez, Gallagher; Palmer, Jackson and Sterling.

Liverpool: Kelleher. Bradley, Konate, Van Dijk, Robertson; McAllister, Grafenbrech, Elliott, Endo; Jacopo and Luis Diaz.


Early this Sunday afternoon, the “legendary” Wembley Stadium will host the long-awaited English League Cup final, which will bring Chelsea and Liverpool face to face, in a confrontation that will witness the presence of several well-known “faces.” From Portuguese football.

See also  And the rooster still does not crow ::

If, on the one hand, the Blues are counting on Enzo Fernandes, the former Benfica player, then on the other hand, the Reds are counting on Darwin Nunez (another former Reds athlete), Diogo Jota and Luis Diaz (former Porto duo) to take over. victory.

Furthermore, the team coached by Jurgen Klopp is the dominant force in this competition, having won it nine times, most recently in the 2021/22 season. For their part, Mauricio Pochettino's men have not lifted the trophy since 2015.

The Chelsea-Liverpool match will be officiated by English referee Chris Kavanagh, and you can watch it live from 3pm (Portugal mainland time), on Sports per minute.

Read also: Liverpool without Klopp, Van Dijk, Salah and.. Xabi Alonso? “I do not have money”