Last Tuesday (9) WhatsApp announced a feature that allows you to hide the “internet” that appears in accounts, an option long-awaited by many users. It will be released gradually and will be available to everyone later this month.
The app will also allow you to leave groups without everyone knowing and block screenshots (screen printing) in single view messages. These changes will take effect automatically and there is no need to change your account settings.
How to Hide “Online” and “Last Seen” on WhatsApp
Until then, it was not possible to remove the WhatsApp status “Online”: if you open the application, the warning appears for all your contacts. It will now be possible to determine who can see this status.
Here’s how to hide “online” from your WhatsApp account:
- In the settings, select “Account”;
- select “Privacy”;
- Click “Last seen and online”;
- Choose who can see “Last Seen” (“Everyone”, “My Contacts”, “My Contacts Except…” and “Nobody”);
- Choose who can see Connected (all or the same option that was chosen in Last Seen).
By hiding your account’s “online” and “last seen”, you also won’t be able to see this information in other people’s accounts.
Silent group exit
Many users were also hoping for a feature that would allow them to leave groups discreetly. By updating WhatsApp, the notification that someone has left the conversation will be shown only to the group admins.
The change will be released from Tuesday (9) and can be seen in the warning the app shows before leaving the group.
If you don’t get the news, the app will only ask you if you really want to leave the conversation. If it is available, a window will appear warning that “Only administrators will be notified when leaving the group”.
Ban printing on single view messages
WhatsApp also announced that it is testing the lock screen on single-width messages, including photos and videos.
The idea is to provide another layer of protection for users to share records when they don’t want them to be available to their contacts forever. The function will be launched for everyone soon.
Why don’t you show me?
WhatsApp usually releases new features little by little, so it’s possible that new features will not be available to you once they are announced.
It is a good practice to receive new features to keep the app up to date. This does not guarantee that the changes will appear faster, but instead you will have a newer version capable of receiving the new functionality.
Here’s how to update WhatsApp:
- Go to Play Store (Android) or App Store (Apple) and search for “WhatsApp”;
- On the application page, check if there is a button with the title “Update”;
- Click “Update” and wait for the download;
- The application will restart and be updated.
Important: If the button says “Open” instead of “Update”, then the application is already in the latest version available.
“Coffee trailblazer. Social media ninja. Unapologetic web guru. Friendly music fan. Alcohol fanatic.”