Complete News World

Ishak Nader is Portugal's biggest medal hope – Athletics

Ishak Nader is Portugal's biggest medal hope – Athletics

This Sunday, Ishak Nader is the Portuguese hope for a second medal at the World Indoor Track and Field Championships in Glasgow, in the 1500m final, a distance in which Salome Afonso surprisingly reached the final.

The ease with which the 24-year-old Portuguese athlete imposed himself in the qualifying round, although it was the slowest of the four groups, gives him the right to be among the candidates for the first places, after the tenth place in the World Championship. From Belgrade 2022, thus being able to add another medal to the bronze won on Saturday. Thiago Luis Pereira in the triple jump.

Salome Afonso performed in Glasgow and had the 18th best time out of 28 entrants, however, she will be one of the 12 finalists after finishing second in her series, where she was almost always in one of the three qualifying positions, moving up with fifth place. Total time.

In the 4×400 metres, passing the tests is likely to be insufficient for the Portuguese teams to qualify from the qualifiers, as both compete by invitation and have the worst records among the participants, men and women.

Portugal presents itself in Glasgow without its three main figures in the national team, focusing on the Olympic triple jump champion, the 2022 world indoor track runner-up in Belgrade, and the 2021 and 2023 European champion, Pedro Pichardo, who is yet to compete. this year. year.

Also missing are Olympic silver medalist Patricia Mamona, the European indoor track gold medalist in 2021, as well as Oriol Dongmu, world champion two years ago and European champion in 2021, both recovering from injury.

See also  Cristiano Ronaldo is close to achieving another record

– Sunday, March 3:

11.10 am: Men's 4 x 400 meters (qualifiers): Duarte Fernandez, Ricardo dos Santos, Erikson Tavares, Omar Al-Khatib, Joao Coelho.

11:38 am: Women's 4×400 meters (qualifiers): Vera Barbosa, Carina Vanessa, Fatoumata Diallo, Juliana Guerrero, Katia Azevedo.

9.30 pm: 1500 meters (final) Ishaq Nader.

9:45 p.m.: 1500m (final) Salome Afonso.